Fried Pickles

Oh My Goodness let me tell you about my love of fried pickles!

I did not, let me repeat, did not like pickles until I had fried pickles. There are so many things I dislike & pickles are were right up there at the top.

I couldn’t get past the vinegar taste.  But one night of eating out changed my mind forever. My husband ordered fried pickles,

now let me just stop here & say I have never heard of fried pickles before & I thought it must have been a Texas thing. Wrong!

Texas isn’t the only state with magical fried pickles. lol. So he ordered them, made me try them & the rest is history.

Since I couldn’t go out to eat every time I wanted the oh so delicious pickles, I had to find a way to make them at home.

I’ve tried a couple recipes but so far I like this one the best.

Oh, did I mention that my husband bought me a deep fryer for Christmas just so I can make fried pickles. Yes, I am addicted. 😉

Ingredients

1 pint sliced dill pickles (I used spicy pickles because I like the extra  kick)

1 large egg, lightly beaten

3/4 cup all purpose flour plus 1 tbsp – divided

1 tsp cayenne pepper

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1/2 tsp paprika

pinch of salt

vegetable oil – you can use canola oil if you’d like

ranch dressing

Drain the pickles reserving some of the pickle juice. Reserve about 2/3 of a cup. Lay the pickle slices on a paper towel to blot off the excess moisture.

Combine the reserved pickle juice, egg & 1 tbsp of flour in a bowl. Whisk to combine, then set aside.

In a shallow bowl or pie plate, combine the remaining flour, cayenne, garlic powder, salt & paprika. Whisk to blend.

In batches, dip the pickle slices in the egg mixture, gently shaking off the excess. Then dip in the flour-spice blend. Make sure to coat your pickle evenly so it will fry up nice & crisp. In a medium saucepan (I am assuming not everyone has a deep fryer), add oil. About a inch in depth. Heat oil to 375 F. Fry pickles in batches until golden brown, which should take about 3 minutes or so. Make sure not to add too many to the pan! Line freshly fried pickles on a paper towel to soak up the oil. Serve warm with ranch as the dipping sauce.

Leave a Reply

