Taco Salad

For Lent I have decided to give up fast food. While it’s only been 5 days, it’s a lot harder than I thought.

No more quick trips through the drive thru for 40 days. 😦

This saddens me.. A LOT!!

But I know by doing this I can find away to make things I like but in a much healthier way.

Since I’m a huge fan of tacos, I knew right away that it would be hard for me to go without tacos for 40 days.

Now, let me say that I haven’t eaten Taco Bell in a little over a year.

I’ve stopped going there after hearing their commercial proclaiming it’s only 88% real beef. Scary isn’t it?!

Even though I’ve stopped eating Taco Bell, I still get a craving for the flavor.

Luckily for me they sell their seasoning for 68 cents at the store. WOO HOO!

So here is my healthier version of tacos.

Ps. This is a super quick meal to make!

Ingredients

1 head of lettuce

1 green bell pepper

1 pack low fat shredded cheese

1 tomato

1 jar Joe T Garcia salsa

1 small container of low fat sour cream

1 package of extra lean ground beef

1 box Aztec taco salad bowls (in the refrigerated section)

1 pack Taco Bell seasoning

3/4 cup water

Wash & dry tomato & bell pepper. Dice both tomato & bell pepper into small cubes. Set aside.

Peel first layer off the head of lettuce & chop. Lettuce should be in relatively small to medium in size. Think bite size.

Lettuce will need to be washed. I use a salad spinner but a strainer would work just fine.

Heat pan on medium heat to brown meat.

While waiting for the meat to brown, heat oven as directed on the taco shell box.

Follow directions on the box to put together shell shapers. These are used to drape the raw shells over to shape in the oven.

Bake shells as directed.

Once meat has browned, drain grease from pan without removing the meat.

Add the 3/4 cup of water & pack of taco seasoning to the pan. Stir.

Bring to a boil, then simmer on medium – low heat for about 10 minutes. Stir occasionally.

Once shells are baked & the meat has finished simmering, it’s time to load up the shells.

Leave a Reply

