English Sweet Potato Biscuits & Honey Butter

I had mentioned in the previous post about sweet potato biscuits so here they are.

Found this recipe in one of my Taste of Home magazines so I thought I’d give it a try.

These are really good with the homemade honey butter but not so much dry.

My family didn’t complain, actually ate 3 to 4 biscuits a piece. They weren’t bad but I think I might

cut back on the flour & add more sweet potato. I will also make them thicker.  It was

my first time making homemade biscuits so this was definitely a learning experience.

See how thin they are? Next time I won’t roll them as much.

Ingredients – Biscuits 

2 cups all-purpose flour

4 tsp sugar

3 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

1 tsp ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp ground nutmeg

1/4 cup shortening (I know this is unhealthy 😦 )

1 cup mashed sweet potatoes

1/2 cup half & half cream

Honey Butter

1/2 cup butter softened

2 Tbsp honey

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

In a small bowl combine the first six ingredients. Cut in the shortening until mixture

resembles coarse crumbs. Combine sweet potatoes & cream. Stir into crumb

mixture just until moistened. Turn onto a lightly floured surface.

Gently knead 8 to 10 times. Pat or roll out to 1/2 inch in thickness.

Cut with floured biscuit cutter. Place 1 inch apart on a greased baking sheet.

Bake at 400 degrees for 9 to 11 minutes or until golden brown.

In a small bowl, beat the butter, honey & cinnamon until blended. Add a little more

honey if you can still taste the butter flavor.

Leave a Reply

