Turkey Gyros

Let me introduce you to my version of a Greek Gyro.

My version uses turkey in place of lamb.

How could anyone eat those cute little lambs?!

I know a lot of people can, but I am not one of them.

I won’t eat goat either. Growing up my mother raised pygmy goats

& I made a couple of them my pets.

My first pet goat was named Murphy after Murphy Brown. lol.

Do you remember that tv show? I think she worked for a news room called F.Y.I..

Anyway, I have a hard time eating cute little animals that remind me of my pets.

I think the turkey is a delicious substitute. It’s juicy, flavorful & healthy.

I’ve never had a true gyro but this one was pretty darn tasty!!

I used some Greek seasoning in the turkey & a little in the cucumber sauce.

I did use a 100% whole wheat tortilla in place of a pita.

Ingredients

1lb ground turkey

1 tsp Greek seasoning

1/2 tomato, diced

1/2 onion, sliced

1/2 head lettuce, shredded

feta

olive oil

tortillas or pitas

Heat olive oil in a large pan on medium to high heat.

Brown turkey until no longer pink. Make sure to break turkey up into small pieces.

While cooking add Greek seasoning to the pan. Stir.

Heat tortillas or pitas. Once warm, fill each one with turkey, tomatoes, lettuce,

onion & feta. Drizzle the cucumber sauce on top. 

Cucumber Sauce

1/4 cup mayo

1/2 tsp pepper

1/2 cucumber, finely diced

Mix all ingredients in a bowl. Drizzle on top.

Enjoy!

One thought on “Turkey Gyros

Leave a Reply

