Pumpkin Fritters

It’s that time of the year again where pumpkin is the staple of most

recipes in my house. My husband & I LOVE Fall & all the wonderful flavors of Fall, so

we cram in as much as we can possibly stand over the next couple months.

Last weekend I made pumpkin fritters for the first time & they were pretty delightful.

I did make a couple changes from the original recipe, but only because I didn’t

care for the over whelming bland pumpkin flavor. Below I’ve listed the original recipe

with the additional ingredients that I added. 🙂

 DSC_0184I used a small ice cream scoop to dip out little balls of batter & dropped it straight into the vegetable oil.

DSC_0183After several minutes & a nice golden brown color, I placed them on a paper towel to drain.

I would recommend testing one to make sure it cooked all the way

through unless you don’t mind a little pumpkin pie texture in the middle.

DSC_0189

Rolled just the tops in cinnamon sugar.

DSC_0190The original recipe calls for a caramel sauce for dipping but I couldn’t locate golden syrup at my local

grocery store. I made a cinnamon syrup instead which was just as tasty I’m sure.

DSC_0194Aren’t they pretty? 😉

Ingredients

Pumpkin Fritters
1 cup pumpkin, cooked and pureed
1 cup flour
2 teaspoon baking powder
2 tablespoon caster sugar
1 egg
¼ cup milk
pinch of salt
oil, for deep frying
1 1/4 teaspoons of pumpkin spice – (Extra I added) (Feel free to add more or less)
1/2 teaspoon of vanilla – (Extra I added) (Feel free to add more or less)

Caramel Sauce
¾ cup sugar

1 cup cream
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3 tbsp butter
½ cup golden syrup (Couldn’t locate in my local store, so I made this recipe instead)
1 teaspoon sea salt flakes

To make the fritters, combine all the ingredients and mix until you have a smooth batter.

Heat the oil in a medium saucepan and fry spoonfuls of the batter until golden brown and cooked throughout, approximately 2-3 minutes.

Remove from the oil and allow to drain on kitchen paper.

Continue until all the fritters are cooked.

To make the caramel sauce, combine all the ingredients in a medium saucepan and allow to cook over a medium heat for 10-15 minutes until the sauce is thick and glossy. Serve warm.

Leave a Reply

